A Miniature Halloween Preview: Carving Pumpkins, Candy Apples and More

I’ve been sculpting pieces for a fall-themed collaboration with Lush Little Landscapes, and this week I finished a selection of yummy pumpkin-y desserts and a pumpkin-carving scene, the latter of which I’d never sculpted before.

For the desserts, I made a moist pumpkin pound cake topped with caramel sauce and crushed pecans, soft pumpkin cookies with cinnamon-nutmeg icing, pumpkin cupcakes topped with white chocolate buttercream and marzipan candies, and a trio of caramel apples.

dollhouse miniature sweets

dollhouse miniature cookies and cupcakes

For the pumpkin carving scene, I sculpted three intact pumpkins in various shades of orange, and then I made my first hollowed out jack o’ lantern, which was a bit of a challenge! Once I was on a roll, though, I decided to go to town with the pumpkin guts and seeds, which of course meant that I had to make a miniature newspaper as well.

I photographed the entire pumpkin sculpting process, and I’ll be creating a short miniatures tutorial next month so you can make your own for tiny Halloween scenes. If you’re not on my mailing list, be sure to sign up here to get an alert once the tutorial is available. (Bonus: You get a bunch of free tutorials when you sign up, too.)

dollhouse miniature Halloween

pumpkinTopOff pumpkinTop pumpkinSide pumpkinGuts3 dollhouse miniature pumpkin jack o' lantern

13 comments

  1. Wow – Looks so realistic! Your so gooood at this. I love it ❤

    1. Thanks, Rupa! 😀

  2. That eviscerated pumpkin (poor thing) is amazing!!! Also, if you happened to base those soft pumpkin cookies on a real thing, please do tell. 🙂

    1. Thanks! And yes, indeed: I saw those cookies on Pinterest and had to miniaturize them! Here’s the post with the recipe. 🙂

      1. Mmmm, thank you!! The summer here has been so cool (which of course I love) that it’s hard for me to imagine that fall is on its way; there’s no real change in the air yet, just in the colors at the florist shops. 🙂

      2. Oh, wow–I wish I could say the same, but I just got back from walking to meet a friend for lunch in 90+ degree noonday sun. Bleh. I’m very ready for fall coolness! 😉

  3. OMG!! Your timing is always amazing! I’m just starting my Halloween/autumn stuff and am struggling with my pumpkins. Your work is always outstanding and beautifully realistic!

    1. Yay! I’m glad our mini-making schedules are cosmically connected, Marion! 😉 I’ll try to get that pumpkin tutorial out ASAP…

  4. rebeccamonkey · · Reply

    Mmmmm those pumpkin cookies look delicious! Every thing looks great as always 🙂

    1. Thanks, Rebecca! Now that I’m onto Halloween stuff, I want to make an entire haunted bakery. So many projects, so little time… 😉

  5. It all looks wonderful! Great job with the newspaper and all the pumpkin gunk. It does look like that when we carve a pumpkin. I love the cute cupcakes, but I’ll go check out the pumpkin cookies. It’s in the 90’s for me as well, but our summer has been otherwise cooler than normal. A haunted bakery? Oh that would be fantastic.

    1. Thanks, Diane! And yes–doesn’t a haunted bakery sound like fun? If only I had time to do all of these projects… 😉

  6. […] time for a new tutorial book! Many of you saw my earlier post with loads of jack o’ lantern pictures, and I’ve finished creating the tutorial book so […]

Leave a comment