The Bakery Room Box: A Parade of Cakes

It’s Tiny Cake Central in my studio today, and I’ve sculpted four new cakes for the miniature bakery, including a very time-consuming ombre cake. Let’s take a peek!

The first cake is iced with milk chocolate frosting and topped with pretty chocolate-strawberry macarons and a yummy sweet strawberry glaze.

Dollhouse miniature cake topped with macarons by The Mouse Market

Second up is the Party Monster Ice Cream Cake, a crazy mishmash of purple and pink ice cream, OREO cookies, funfetti ice cream, and Neapolitan ice cream, all topped with sky blue buttercream, rainbow sprinkles, hot pink sugar, and crushed Carnival Animal Cookies.

Colorful dollhouse miniature cake by The Mouse Market

The third miniature cake is the diva of the group, the Rhapsody in Blue Ombre Cake, which took me a few hours to finish. As with all of the other cakes in this post, I’ll be outlining how to make the ombre cake out of polymer clay in the upcoming book.

Miniature ombre cake from polymer clay

Dollhouse miniature ombre cake by The Mouse Market

And finally, I sculpted a Cute as Buttons Cake covered in white chocolate buttercream and pretty pink and red candy buttons.

Polymer clay cake with buttons by The Mouse Market

If you’re not on my mailing list, you can sign up here to receive an email once the tutorial book is available!

Dollhouse miniature bakery and ice cream parlor by The Mouse Market Bakery room box by The Mouse Market Dollhouse miniature bakery case by The Mouse Market Dollhouse miniature bakery by The Mouse Market Looking through the miniature bakery window Peeking through the miniature bakery door Polymer clay cakes by The Mouse Market

5 comments

  1. rebeccamonkey · · Reply

    Yum! The cakes look great! I think i recognize the macaron cake from Pinterest 🙂 and the ombre cake turned out amazing, I can really imagine it taking hours to complete. The little buttons on the button cake remind me of actual, miniature, plastic buttons i have for tiny clothes too.

    1. Yes! The macaron cake is from Pinterest. 🙂 As long as the ombre cake took, I think I want to do one more like it using a different method, just to see which one I like better. Hopefully I won’t destroy my sanity in the process… 😉

  2. […] I finished the last of the miniature cakes for the cake case, adding to the batch I made yesterday. I’m so excited to see the room box fill out, and next on my to-do list is the counter where […]

  3. Ann Behan · · Reply

    What will the new book include, Mo? Will it have how you made the whole bakery setting? Because I’m gathering items and ideas for a Shabby bakery/sweet shop and I’d love to see yours.

    1. Yep! Everything I’ve shown in the blog posts so far, including the room construction, will be included in the book. 😀

Leave a comment